fbpx

Borderline Collective in Mae Sot

by Sanne

Nachdem ich in Hongkong war, ging ich nach Mae Sot in Thailand, nahe der Grenze zu Myanmar. Hier traf ich mich mit dem Borderline Collective, einer Organisation, die Migrantinnen und Flüchtlingsfrauen aus Myanmar unterstützt. Die Frauen sind in kleineren autonomen Kollektiven organisiert, die in den kleinen Dörfern entlang der Grenze angesiedelt sind.

Sie stellen die schönsten Taschen und Accessoires her, die sie in ihrem gemeinsamen Borderline-Laden in Mae Sot verkaufen. Ich hatte mich wirklich darauf gefreut, sie zu sehen. Gemeinsam produzieren wir eine Tasche für meinen Online-Shop, der im Juni eröffnet wird. Wir haben also noch einige arbeitsreiche Wochen vor uns.

Eine Treppe darüber befindet sich eine Kunstgalerie, in der lokale Künstler ihre Kunst ausstellen, Borderline betreibt auch das Restaurant Tea Garden, das sich direkt hinter dem Geschäft befindet. Das Essen ist vegetarisch und lecker. Wenn man lernen möchte, wie das Essen im Restaurant zubereitet wird, kann man sich für einen Kochkurs anmelden, zu dem auch eine Tour zum lokalen Markt gehört. Borderline ist eine so freundliche und kreative Oase. Wenn man also Mae Sot besucht, sollte man definitiv auch Borderline besuchen. Essen? Kunst? Handwerk?  Das alles sind Gründe, diesen wunderbaren Ort zu besuchen.

Borderline Collective, 674/14 Intharakeeree Road, Mae Sot, Thailand

Borderline Collective in Mae Sot

by Sanne

After Hong Kong, I went to Mae Sot in Thailand, close to the border to Myanmar. Here, I was meeting with Borderline Collective, which is an organization supporting migrant and refugee women from Myanmar. The women are organized in smaller autonomous collectives based in the small villages along the border.

They make the most beautiful bags and accessories, which they sell in their common Borderline shop located in Mae Sot, and I had really been looking forward to seeing them. Together, we are making a bag for my online store, which opens in June, so we have some busy weeks ahead of us.

One stair up, there’s an art gallery, where local artists exhibit their art, and Borderline also runs a restaurant, Tea Garden, which is located right behind the shop. The food is vegetarian and delicious, and if you want to learn how to make the food they serve in the restaurant, you can sign up for a cooking class, which also includes a tour to the local market. Borderline is such a friendly and creative oasis, so if you are visiting Mae Sot, make sure you also visit Borderline. Food? Art? Handicraft? You have all the reasons in the world to stop by this wonderful place.

Borderline Collective, 674/14 Intharakeeree Road, Mae Sot, Thailand

You may also like

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.